top of page

Say No to Toxins!

Let me start of by saying this is just an informative post. I learned early on in life that knowledge is powerful!

I’ve wondered for a while why my generation seems to have so many issues with infertility, maintaining pregnancy, birth defects, allergies and so many more health related issues. Statistics show that these issues have increased in the last twenty/thirty years and we wonder why…

There are more and more toxins and chemicals in our every day products and our food is being genetically modified…creating so many issues for our body. This needs to stop!

A couple years ago I had a pedicure at the spa at my gym (I had to use a gift card). Since it was my first time getting a pedicure with the nail technician and at the Health Spa, she wanted to fill me in on the products she used and why she used them. She told me that all the products are natural, certified organic, plant based…100% vegan. What? A vegan product…no meat in the nail polish? I asked her what did that really mean…

A vegan product is a product that has been manufactured without animal by-products or animal-derived ingredients, such as fish scales as glitter in your nail polish or crushed up bugs in your lipstick. Umm…GROSS, right? I was grossed out and kind of didn’t believe that. When I got home I started doing research. It is TRUE and totally grosses me out! These nasty ingredients are found in EVERYTHING…face wash, lotions, shampoo, conditioner, deodorant, perfume, cosmetics, cleaning products, baby products…the list goes on and on.

I realized at that point I needed to start looking at the ingredients not only in my food, but in all products and really start to avoid these toxins and chemicals. Here is a list of toxins/chemicals we should be avoiding.

Natural: Products that have been manufactured using only ingredients that come from the earth, without the use of chemicals or synthetics. Examples of these chemicals/toxins that you want to avoid: Sulfates (SLS), parabens, phthalates, sodium benzoate, PEGs, petrochemicals, chlorine, propylene glycol, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, phenoxyethanol, alkylphenols, benzene, Triethanolamine (TEA), phosphates, ceteareth-20, bronopol, nanoparticles, quaternium 15, sulfur oxides, mineral oil, triclosan, methylisothiazolinone (MIT), DMDM Hydantoin and so many more…

Vegan: Products that have been manufactured without animal by-products or animal-derived ingredients. Examples of these ingredients that you want to avoid: Ambergris, Carmine/Carminic Acid (these are the crushed up bugs), Glycerin, Lactic Acid, Lanolin, Glycerides, Musk, Placenta, Retinol and so many more…

Cruelty Free: Products that have been manufactured by methods that do not include testing or experimentation on animals at any stage of the process.

NOTE: Just because something is vegan /cruelty free, doesn’t mean it is natural or organic…always check the label and if you have questions, contact the manufacturer directly.

Little by little I’ve been switching to all natural/organic cruelty free and vegan products.

I encourage you to research (knowledge is power) and switch to a natural/organic cruelty free/vegan lifestyle if you feel it is the best thing for you and your family. Who knows..maybe this is the cure to so may issues and diseases.

The saying goes…sometimes the simplest answer is right in front of you…

Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page