top of page

30 Day "Me Time" Challenge


As a mom it is understandable that you are overtired and overwhelmed. Your “me time” is now dedicated to taking care of your babies. Maybe WAY MORE time that you thought or could have imagined.

When my little boy was 6 months old, I couldn’t believe that I couldn’t get back into my routine that I had before him. I was overwhelmed and never thought I would get anything done ever again. The idea of having “me time”, well forget that! Fast forward to today…I have two little ones, 3 years old and 1 year old. “Me time” is rare. Yes, sometimes I get the “evening off” when my husband takes them to the park, so I can clean or when I occasionally go get my nails done or go out with friends, but having “me time” every day doesn’t happen.

As moms we get into our daily routine, but by the time it’s bedtime for the kids, we are beyond exhausted and don’t even think about having time for ourselves. We are tired from getting up all night, sometimes we haven’t showered in days, have greasy hair pulled up in a ponytail, wear our “mommy uniform,” which consists of yoga pants and t-shirt/tank top and some days we haven’t gotten anything done that we needed to get done, causing us to be overwhelmed. Our little ones won’t be little forever. We don’t want to look back on this precious time and think, “I was so tired or overwhelmed and didn’t appreciate the special times with my babies.” Well, if this sounds familiar to you, then this challenge is for you! It is time to recharge your batteries!

In my own efforts to recharge, I have created a 30 day “me time” challenge. The next 30 days (started September 1, 2017) is for moms who need to recharge their batteries and remember to take care of themselves in order to be the best mom you can be. After all, happy mommy = happy life and happy wife = happy life, right?

Here’s How It Works:

  1. I have created a list of “me time” activities/ideas to help you recharge your batteries (see below).

  2. Complete one task each day (you can repeat activities if you really find it enjoyable). These are ideas and not every activity will be completed. If one of these activities doesn’t interest you, substitute it for your own idea. This challenge isn’t about completing this list of “me time” activities. It is about making you feel happy and yourself feel good!

  3. Make sure to tell your husband/spouse/significant other that you plan to start this challenge on September 1st and why you are doing it.

  4. Lastly, I want to hear what you are doing for your “me time”! Find me on social media (links are on the sidebar) and share with me DAILY (this is a great way for accountability) what you are doing. Share your thoughts/feelings/questions/feedback throughout the challenge. I would also love for you to share pics of you enjoying your “me time.” Tag me in your post and use the hashtag #MOMtimechallenge. I will also be sharing my journey throughout this 30 day challenge, so be sure to follow me on facebook/instagram/twitter to hear about it.

Me Time Activity Ideas:

  • Go for a walk/run alone

  • Take a bubble bath

  • Meditate for 15 minutes

  • Start or write in a journal

  • Do an art project/craft

  • Apply a face mask

  • Do your hair – if you are like me, you don’t always have time to do your hair and just end up putting it in a ponytail.

  • Watch a sad movie

  • Have a long cry – sounds funny, but every once in a while we need a long cry. Being a mom is hard and overwhelming.

  • Paint your nails or go have a manicure and pedicure

  • Make a life goals list – When you make a list it allows you to dream big and realize you can do anything you put your mind too!

  • Exfoliate your body

  • Have a glass of wine

  • Eat an entire bar of chocolate – yes the entire bar and don’t feel guilty for not sharing. Have a glass of wine with it : )

  • Get a massage

  • Watch a romantic movie

  • Listen to a happy song

  • Have a dance party by yourself

  • Read a book

  • Call a friend and have an adult conversation

  • Take a nap (without the baby/babies)

  • Sleep in (let daddy take the kids for the morning)

  • Take a long shower

  • Treat yourself to your favorite dessert

  • Get a haircut or have someone do your hair for the day

  • Try to take an afternoon “off” or even a day “off” while someone watches the kids

  • Hire someone to clean the house for you (make sure the house is clean and organized so you don’t feel overwhelmed)

  • Clean/Organize – some think that cleaning or organizing isn’t “me time”, however, I love to clean and organize, so this is right up my alley, especially when it is uninterrupted.

  • Write a letter to your baby to give them when they are grown, and write your birth story down so you don’t forget it.

  • Treat yourself to something you want, not need. It does not have to be something huge or expensive, but something just for you.

  • Do something to make your bedroom more peaceful and comfortable; you are not getting much sleep, so the sleep you do get should be enjoyable! Treat yourself to new sheets, a new pillow or a comfy blanket (maybe even heated blanket for those winter months that are coming up).

  • Enjoy a hot cup of coffee or tea

  • Buy yourself fresh flowers for the house

  • Do a detox cleanse

  • Go on a date with your hubby while you have someone watch the kiddos

  • Take a day trip out as a family; you don’t have to go far, but just get out of the house and find something fun to do together as a family. Create memories!!!!

  • Join Mommy of Minis moms group and connect with other moms and make a new friends : )

If you have chosen to take the challenge, I am so excited for you! I hope it helps give you a little more time to yourself! Can’t wait to hear from you on your journey, and feel free to share with any other overtired and overwhelmed moms you know! Remember we start Friday, September 1st!

Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page