top of page

Thanksgiving Ham


The holidays are coming up! My favorite time of year! Seriously, I’m that person that will play Christmas music all year long, but for the sake of my relationship, I restrain myself to the day after Thanksgiving. One of the many things I look forward to this time of year is the holiday ham. I don’t know about you, but for me the ham is the star of the show at my holiday party. Whether I’m the host or the guest, this recipe is my secret weapon and is so easy to make. This dish is a sure winner for any party. Enjoy and happy holidays!!

HOLIDAY HAM A LA MARTHA

READY IN:

2hrs 25mins

SERVES:

10-12

INGREDIENTS

  • 7 lbs ham, rind removed

  • whole cloves

  • 1 lb dark brown sugar

  • 1(12 ounce) can Coca-Cola (not diet!)

  • 1(14 ounce) can pineapple rings, drained and juice reserved

  • 1 cup sweet concord grape wine

  • 10 -12 maraschino cherries

  • fresh bay leaf, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

  • Heat oven to 325ºF.

  • Using a sharp knife, score surface of ham crosswise and lengthwise, forming a crosshatch pattern about 1/4-in deep and 1-in apart.

  • Place 1 clove in the center of each square. Place ham, fat side up, in a double-layer disposable aluminum roasting pan and pat the brown sugar onto the surface of the ham (Expect some sugar to fall into the roasting pan)

  • Transfer to oven, and bake until brown sugar just begins to melt, about 30 minutes.

  • Pour Coca-Cola over ham, mixing with melted sugar in bottom of roasting pan. Baste ham with sugar/Coke mixture.

  • Return to oven, and bake for 20 minutes more.

  • Meanwhile, combine 1 cup reserved pineapple juice and wine in a small bowl. Baste ham with pineapple mixture.

  • Bake ham for a total of 16 minutes per pound, basting every 20 minutes. During the last 20 minutes of baking time, decorate ham with pineapple rings (use 2-3 toothpicks to hold each ring in place).

  • Center a cherry in the center of each ring, and attach it with a toothpick.

  • Transfer ham to a platter, removing all toothpicks. Garnish ham with fresh bay leaves if desired.

Enjoy! Happy Thanksgiving!

Hi! I’m Stacy! I am a stay at home mom to an active little boy. I recently moved to Georgia from Las Vegas, but have lived all over the country. I will share my life as a mom, travel, recipes, DIY projects. With a Bachelors degree in exercise science, I will also share my knowledge and expertise on health and fitness.

Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page