top of page

Wednesday Wellness Tip

Mommy of Minis is super excited to announce that Meg Ortiz, one of our Mommy of Minis members and Wellness Advocate for AdvoCare, will be blogging for us every Wednesday. She will be sharing tips on healthy eating, meal planning, weight loss and so much more. She has had an amazing journey that you won't want to miss, so check her out and her amazing results!

My name is Meg and I am excited to be featured on the Mommy of Mini's blog bringing you wellness tips. I am a wife and a mom to my 9 month old little girl, Ellie. I have always had a passion for helping people and health in general, so when I came across a company called AdvoCare, I knew it was something I wanted to be a part of. With the help of AdvoCare and the nutritional products they provide, I have reached my own health goals and now help others to do the same. I am also a nurse at a children's hospital here in Atlanta, and nursing is where I discovered my passion of helping others, which has now grown into a focus on leading a healthy lifestyle. Through what I have learned from helping my own family and many others achieve their own health goals, I am excited to bring some tips to you to help make living a healthy life a little easier for you.

When getting started with a healthy lifestyle, lots of people start in the kitchen. If you aren't used to eating healthy, making meals at home, or even effectively shopping the grocery store, it can be daunting. There is such a stereotype attached to eating healthy that it is more expensive and less convenient to do so. From my experience, I have found the opposite to be true.. so I came up with a few of my grocery store tips to help make your life easier!

1. Shop Online

I have found that by choosing my groceries online, I also spend less money & time in the store - that's a WIN in my book. I know certain stores have their own "online shopping" options, however, I came across InstaCart and have been using it for all my shopping needs. As a mom, heading to the grocery store with kids can be a haul, so this is not only proved to be a money saver for me, but also a saver of my time which I value. If you want to try InstaCart for $10 off, click here to get the code!

2. Make a List / Fridge List

Failing to plan is planning to fail. Grocery shopping without a list is a nightmare not only for your time, but also for your wallet. Without a list, you are MUCH more likely to buy what you see. I use our Amazon Alexa to verbally save my shopping list while in the kitchen - it's proven to be a great gift for us- but a written fridge list would do the same! As you run out of items or come up with new recipes to try, jot the ingredients down so the next shopping trip you can be sure to get exactly what you need. This prevents over-spending on stocked items you're unsure of.

3. ONLY buy groceries

When grocery shopping, it's important to ONLY buy your groceries. I say this because other household items such as cleaning or paper products can easily run up your shopping costs, as they typically cost more money at a grocery store than other discounted store. I shop for paper items at Costco usually once a month and cleaning products from a wellness company that specializes in chemical free products called Melaleuca - both of these come from a separate "household" budget.

4. Invest in Food Storage

Leftovers are life- ha! I meal prep for about 3-4 days at a time because I'm a mom and life is crazy enough. So I invested in some tupperware storage and class containers from Costco to help me preserve my leftovers and plan a few days in advance for my week. Leftovers and meals in bulk help to cut down recipe item costs and save me time. To avoid getting tired of food, I usually switch up my meals bi-weekly as to give me some variety in my days. Pre-packing EVERYTHING from meals to snacks in baggies and containers is such a saver of not only time and energy, but also a money saver. Having food prepped for the week prevents me from stopping for snacks at the coffee shop, gas station, or from going out to eat during the week.

5. Keep it Simple

9/10 of you are probably overthinking it. 😬 You don't need to be a rocket scientist to shop smart for healthy meals for the week. I follow this simple guide at the grocery store that I picked up from AdvoCare.

For all my meals, I choose:

1 Protein

1 Complex Carbohydrate

1 Fruit OR 1 Veggie (I do fruit with breakfast and veggie with lunch and dinner)

By doing this, it's easy for me to head to the store and know EXACTLY what I'm buying without overthinking it or spending a fortune.

Living healthy can be fun and definitely not as scary as you might think. If you need a cheerleader on your healthy journey or have any questions, I would love to help you!

To learn about Meg's journey and to contact her you can visit her website or Facebook page.

Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page